Skip to content
Close All

NTRP Ratings

How do your skills measure up? United States Tennis Association (USTA) leagues utilize the National Tennis Rating Program (NTRP) to classify tennis skill levels to place like-skill level players together. In order to play in any USTA Leagues or tournaments you must have a current NTRP rating. The HRCA uses these categories for lessons, drills, and other activities. Tennis lessons for beginning players are classified as “beginner.”

NTRP Ratings

2.5: player is learning to judge where the ball is going although court coverage is weak; can sustain a rally of slow pace with other players of the same ability.

3.0: player is consistent when hitting medium paced shots, but is not comfortable with all strokes and lacks control when trying for directional intent, depth or power.

3.5: player has achieved improved stroke dependability and direction on moderate shots, but still lacks depth and variety; starting to exhibit more aggressive net play, has improved court coverage, and is developing teamwork in doubles.

4.0: player has dependable strokes, including directional intent and depth on forehand, backhand, moderate shots, plus the ability to use lobs, overheads, approach shots, and volleys with some success; occasionally forces errors when serving and teamwork in doubles is evident.

4.5: player has begun to master the use of power and spins, is beginning to handle pace, has sound footwork, can control depth of shots, and is beginning to vary tactics according to opponents; can hit first serves with power and accuracy, places the second serve, and is able to rush the net successfully.

More NTRP Rating Information

Questions? Contact our knowledgeable tennis monitors at the Northridge Tennis Pavilion by calling 303-471-8996.

Lessons and leagues see Tennis Programs
Court Reservations